2016 Intern Bios

The Squam Conservation Internship provides skills and experience for future conservation professionals while working as the driving force behind the SLA’s conservation mission.  This volunteer internship provides hands-on conservation work experience and certifications over a broad range of activities.  Interns serve as campsite hosts and caretakers at our backcountry campsites, work toward the eradication of variable milfoil, help preserve loon populations on Squam, engage both youth and adults in environmental education, and perform other conservation duties such as shoreline restoration and trail maintenance and construction. Squam Conservation Interns also regularly write about their experiences in the Squam Watershed. Learn more about the internship program here.

April 28, 2016


My name is Erin Shilling and this fall I will be a senior at the University of Texas in Austin. Originally from Dallas, Texas, I am majoring in Ecology, Evolution, and Behavioral Biology and I am working to complete a certificate in Environment and Sustainability as well. I focus on aquatic systems within my studies at UT, and while marine systems are my favorite, I am passionate about protecting and restoring all types of environments. I hope to have a career in research in the future, and the field work I have done as part of my research experiences with UT have been the best part. I love the outdoors, working with animals, reading, and learning. I’m really excited to spend a whole summer working for a program that combines all of my interests in an area of the country I have never gotten to explore before!




Hi, I'm Gio. I am originally from Montevideo, Uruguay. I've also lived in Rome, New York, and currently reside in Chicago. I am an environmental studies student at NEIU, where I also helped lead a conservation club on campus. I decided to major in environmental studies when I realized that nature isn't a resource to be exploited, and I want to help ensure a future of cohabitation with the planet. Here at Squam, I hope to learn the skills I’ll need to help forward that goal. Time away from the city life doesn’t hurt either! To be honest, my goal is to build a self-sustaining Earthship home somewhere. My hobbies include biking, reading, and playing music. I play guitar mainly, but I also dabble on mandolin, bass, and banjo. Cannot wait to harmonize with the loons!




I'm from Salisbury, Maryland, and am a Sophomore at the University of Maryland, College Park. I am currently majoring in Environmental Science and Policy, and am minoring in International Development and Conflict Management. I am very involved on campus, especially with Students Helping Honduras, and my fraternity. I enjoy being in the outdoors, whether that is backpacking, kayaking, or going to the beach. I am a very outgoing person and spend the majority of my time with my friends.





My name is Katri and I'm from Arlington, Virginia. I spent the summers of my childhood on Squam Lake and am fortunate that my parents now call the region home. I graduated from Colby College in May 2015 with a BA in the field of government. Since graduation I've held positions within my field in Washington D.C., but I realized that New England and environmental work call to me. In my free time I enjoy running, gardening, hiking, reading, and communing with trees. I'm excited to give back to Squam Lake by means of conservation work and look forward to days of activity and exhaustion.





Originally from Concord, New Hampshire, I started school at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine in 2012. At Bates, I study Chemistry and try to fill most of my free time doing music related things. I have played Guitar in the Jazz Band at Bates as well as in personal group endeavors, and currently work as at the Olin Arts Center Concert Hall making sure that everything from lighting to recording shows runs smoothly. Growing up in New England meant growing up around lakes and rivers, so I spent my days jumping into those things, and that remains one of my favorite things to do! Last summer I got to direct a summer adventure program for 13 and 14 year olds, so I got to spend a lot of time canoeing, sailing, and hiking the area around Blue Hill, Maine.



Maggie G.

My name is Maggie Gaiero. I was born and raised in Rumney, NH and I am now a Senior attending the State University of New York at Oswego, NY. The best part of going to SUNY Oswego is tied between having direct access to Lake Ontario and getting 3 or more feet of snow in just a couple hours. So far my studies have focused on ecology and limnology including a class on oceanography. My interests include being outdoors and active be it hiking or kayaking, conservation, and reading.





Maggie K.

My name is Maggie Kelly and I'm a rising junior at St. Lawrence University in northern New York. I'm majoring in Conservation Biology with a Global Studies minor. I grew up in New Hampshire, spending my childhood exploring the mountains and lakes of New England. I love hiking, backpacking, canoeing, skiing and cooking! I've spent my past couple summers farming in Maine and doing trail work in the White Mountains, and am very excited to spend this summer interning for Squam Lake Association!




Hi! My name's Olivia Roberts and I'm beyond excited to be able to call Squam Lake home for the summer! I'm from Vero Beach, Florida, although I was born in a very small town in upstate New York, and I can't wait to make my way back up north for the summer. I'm a rising senior at Florida State University pursuing a biology degree. In the future, I hope to become either a veterinarian or a marine biologist, but I'm still trying to figure all of that out. In the meantime, I know for sure that I want to do something that involves either animals or the incredible world that lives beneath the surface... or both! Respecting and learning about the environment has always been of utmost importance to me, as well as doing my part to help conserve it. I'm especially interested in how factors such as climate change can affect life in the sea, from the microscopic phytoplankton to the largest marine mammals, and I would love to spend my energy working to help conserve these species. I feel freedom in riding horses, scuba diving, sports, camping, and essentially anything else that involves the great outdoors. I'm ecstatic to be joining the Squam Lake conservation team this summer, and can't wait to start making both an environmental difference and countless amazing memories!



I grew up in Claremont, New Hampshire where we say soft serve and not creme to describe ice cream. I am currently attending the University of Vermont, UVM, where I'm majoring in Environmental Studies and minoring in Wildlife Biology. I grew up doing outdoor activities such as hiking and kayaking while also honing my juggling skills. Not really. I can only juggle three objects at a time. Anyways, my interests include swimming, hiking, ballroom dancing, and petting dogs. My favorite classes at UVM so far have been ornithology, fisheries techniques, and Greek mythology. I am also a peer mentor, teaching assistant and the ex-president of the UVM swim club. I don't really have a detailed plan on what I want to do after I graduate college; however, eventually I want to work within a marine protected area studying marine megafauna.

Read more Intern Journal entries here.